L’Shanah Tovah! Happy New Year!

Happy Jewish New Year! This will be my first year away from my family as well as away from an organized Hillel during the High Holy Days.

applesandhoneyAnd though this is the first year I have a vehicle and (officially) independent, I still am not necessarily free to go to High Holy Days services. As was the case at my college, my job dictates that if I take a day off for a religious holiday I am taking a personal day. This wouldn’t be a problem unto itself, but under Christian hegemony, those who are of the Christian faith (most denominations at least–there are exceptions to everything) have their holidays off work and school as a matter of course. No one has to worry about losing a day of work or catching up on school assignments because they celebrated Christmas or Easter.

Yet, one of my friends is making me rethink how I can celebrate, even if going to a synagogue is currently not an option. They sent me a link to tips and projects for a DIY Rosh Hashanah.

I want to send this post out as holiday greetings to anyone who’s interested in a sweet year ahead and also to start thinking about our options in celebration, whether we’re religious or not, whether we have a community, want a community, or just want to dip some apples in honey for a sweet new year.

L’Shanah Tovah! Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

