In between White and Person of Color

I have white privilege but I don’t identify as white. Because White, to me, means White Christian culture. And as a Jew I’m excluded. It can be as subtle as having to go to school on major Jewish holidays, or as frustrating as having to explain my religion to people as “the token Jew.”

In short, I’ve stopped identifying as white. But the problem is that I have white privilege. My family is everything Eastern European and by my skin color I am white. I don’t feel comfortable identifying as a person of color and I don’t seek to equate being Jewish as being a person of color because I know I don’t experience the same oppression.

Is there an in between?

I can check ‘other’ for my race on government surveys, and (if given the option) write Jewish, but I’ve spoken with people who say calling Judaism a race is part of what caused the Holocaust. I don’t believe that, but it’s difficult to get the thought out of my mind.

Does anyone know if there’s a way to identify that encompasses my Jewish identity and recognizes my white privilege? I would really appreciate the advice.

2 thoughts on “In between White and Person of Color

  1. As a Chechen/Kavkaz Jew I completely understand. I think that while Judaism is not a race, people may be referring to Israeli ethnicity as not white. But identity is completely personal and often very complex.

    I don’t identify as white but I also don’t identify PoC, because I do not want to exploit the historical context of this term. I identify as “ethnic, or non-European” and this allows me a healthy distance from the concept of “whiteness” while still acknowledging my privilege.

Leave a Reply

