“Collateral Murder” and Bradley Manning

When WikiLeaks was all over the news three years ago, I was still in high school and living a delirious life where politics were for grown ups and WikiLeaks was a strange branch-off of Wikipedia. What did I know? What do I know? Until last night I was still blissfully unaware that there are heroes like Bradley Manning who put morality ahead of the law and decide that the American people can be trusted to know when their government commits war crimes.

Bradley Manning is a private in the US army who sent videos of the July 12, 2007 Baghdad Airstrike to WikiLeaks and is being charged with aiding the enemy. I was lucky enough to be directed to an article by Chris Hedges “We Are Bradley Manning”.

Last night I knew nothing about Bradley Manning and less about the infringement of our rights through WikiLeaks. Today, I feel that as a US citizen I am obliged to share this information. The video-“Collateral Murder- is below.

I cannot claim to be an expert on the US military and even as I write this, I feel that I’m not qualified to speak on the subject. But because I’m not an authority is exactly why I need to speak out. I’m coming from the same place as many of you who are only just now receiving this information. There’s time for us to become more fluent with the proceedings of Manning’s trial and the working of the military, but there is not time to debate with ourselves whether our own lack of knowledge will prevent us from sharing the truth.

Those soldiers in that airstrike wanted an excuse to kill those people. They wanted to indulge their own sense of violence under the guise of “national security” and they got what they wanted. They murdered innocent people-real people, with lives just like ours! This is what disturbed me the most: this isn’t fiction and these are real lives we’re dealing with. There was racism in this attack, racism that is learned in America and given wings in the army.

This is immoral and we know it. There is no justification.

I’ve never felt so strongly about something in my life. I’ve never felt so absolutely powerless. This is why I’m sharing this information. If we can get a discussion going and get other voices speaking out, we won’t be powerless in the face of a government seeking to repress what we can know.

Please, pass the article and the video along to your friends and family. Go to bradleymanning.org for more information and ways to get involved further.

One thought on ““Collateral Murder” and Bradley Manning

Leave a Reply

