Reality Award

Thank you so much to forwomenseyesonly for nominating my blog for this award. There is no better place to read about women’s health and the need for action, than forwomenseyesonly and I cannot praise her work enough. As always, I must thank my best friend and continued inspiration Justina Bradshaw, without whose help and support I would never have worked up the courage to voice my thoughts.

The questions below are ones I’ve been asked to comment on as a recipient of the award. I cannot guarantee they will all be answered with information about my beliefs on feminism and sexuality but, if nothing else, my answers will be honest.

If you could change one thing what would you change?

I would change the way sex ed is taught. I would make the mandatory health class have a heavy component in explaining sexuality and introduce sex as something that is not frightening and is neither a mature or immature choice.  In this ideal world, there would be no slut-shaming and there would be no macho-men encouraged to sow their wild oats. Young teenagers (middle school aged) would not be under the illusion that straight is the only sexuality and gay or lesbian is an insult.
If you could repeat an age, what would it be?

If we’re talking about an age of my life, I don’t believe I’ve lived long enough to want to revert backwards. If we’re talking about an age of history, I have a not-so-small-obsession with Hannibal Barca (not Hannibal the Cannibal) and despite all the terrible risks and severe sexism of the period, I would go back to ancient Carthage approximately 220 or so BC.

What one thing really scares you?

Being raped and knowing that this is a reality for so many women.

What is one dream you have not completed, and do you think you’ll be able to complete it?

My ultimate goal is to write historically focused scripts and specifically scripts for children’s cartoons. If I can’t write for cartoons, I plan to write for film in some way as I believe film and animation are the two greatest mediums for storytelling.

If you could be someone else for one day, who would it be?

I would want to be my brother. As much as it might seem that all I post about is how much we argue, I love him. He is strong willed and strong bodied. He is dedicated to his goal of becoming a personal trainer. For all that we disagree, it is our disagreements that make me want to live as him for a day. Where does he get his ideas? What goes on inside his head when we argue? He is complex in a way I have not been able to show on my blog because I don’t have the insight to even begin to understand it myself.

I pass on the reality award to the following 5 blogs, for their insight and wisdom they continue to share:

Queer Landia

Wild Feminist Appears
Thank you again for all that you do.

The rules to follow if you choose to accept:

  1. Acknowledge that blogger on your blog and link back to them
  2. Answer the 5 questions presented
  3. Nominate 5  bloggers for the award and notify them on their blogs.
  4. Copy and paste the award on your blog somewhere

The list of questions to answer are the same as above:

  1. If you could change one thing what would you change?
  2. If you could repeat an age, what would it be?
  3. What one thing really scares you?
  4. What is one dream you have not completed, and do you think you’ll be able to complete it?
  5. If you could be someone else for one day, who would it be?
2 thoughts on “Reality Award

Leave a Reply

