This is My Body Movement

Ever since I learned what asexuality was and realized that I am asexual I foolishly believed that because sex did not directly affect my life and my body that the fight for reproductive rights was not my concern. Sexism did not seem to affect me. I know better now.

My body my choice shirt shirt

My friend who inspired this blog sent me a video today: THIS IS MY BODY where women of all races and nationalities went in front of a camera and told Congress their bodies are their own. It is not up to legislators to determine what a woman can and cannot do with her body just because there is fear surrounding the notion of a woman’s choice. Please watch the video because this was ultimately what made my decision to stop being afraid to speak out and start this blog. I was so deeply captivated by the courage of these women who own their power because they own their bodies and everything that comes with being a woman, sexual and otherwise.

It is incredibly powerful how honestly these women speak out about their right to the take responsibility for their actions and to be treated as competent adults who have a say in what directly affects them.

And all this time I believed feminists were outdated women marching without a cause. I have been wrong on every level imaginable. It’s the same way I was wrong about my asexuality excluding me from sexism. I have been doing more research on the war on women and I am coming to realize this is not an outlandish term reserved for those too bitter to speak on politics calmly.

I was doing research to find out more information on the This is my Body video and about current legislation I came across another project with the same name; This is my Body.  This other This is My Body Project was started when 17 year old Kailei Picciotti was being cyber bullied about her body image, being told she was too fat and too ugly to have self worth or be a model. In response to those anonymous comments she took a marker and wrote on her stomach This is my Body.  The movement encourages anyone to send in pictures of themselves showing off what they have the least self confidence in and being assured that they are beautiful. Worth is not dependent on conventional standards of beauty.

The two movements have more in common than just a name. Although the This is my Body video is far more geared toward politics, the movement started by Kailei is after the same thing: a world where everyone can accept who they are and be accepted as equal members of the world. No matter how much one knows about politics making a decision that is right for you, the individual, can only come from self love.

Whether you write it on your skin or say it out loud, tell it to yourself or shout it to the world, let someone, anyone, know that this is your body. You have the right to do with it what you choose. Man or Woman don’t be afraid to speak out.

Leave a Reply

